Provincial and territorial

Thirteen systems that do not talk to each other.

The Disability Tax Credit is federal. Your provincial disability support is not. They are separate applications, judged by different people against different rules — and being approved for one tells the other nothing.

Photograph by Dimitri Karastelev (opens in a new tab)

The one thing to understand

Approval from Ottawa is not approval from your province. In almost every case you have to apply twice.

This catches almost everybody, and it costs people years. Somebody is approved for the Disability Tax Credit, assumes the province has been told, and finds out much later that nobody was.

It runs the other way too. Being on provincial disability support for a decade does not make you approved for the Disability Tax Credit. Plenty of people who qualify for both have only ever been given one.

What is true almost everywhere

  • Every province and territory runs its own program, under its own ministry. Not the Canada Revenue Agency, and not the office you deal with federally.
  • Each has its own definition of disability and its own medical form. Your doctor filling in one does not fill in the other.
  • Nearly all of them are income- and asset-tested: what you earn and what you own affect what you get. The Disability Tax Credit is not tested that way at all.
  • Most reduce your monthly payment when other money arrives, and they differ in how they treat the federal Canada Disability Benefit. That is a question for your caseworker, not for us.
  • Almost all of them can be appealed, and the deadlines are short. If you are refused, ask that same day what the deadline is, and write it down.

Who runs what, where you live

The program name is the thing to say out loud when you phone. Each links to the government that runs it — always the final word on rules, forms and amounts. The last column is the question that decides whether applying federally leaves you better off: if you take the Canada Disability Benefit, does this place take it back? Where a government has said, the answer links to what it said.

Who runs what, where you live
Province or territory The program Canada Disability Benefit
Ontario Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) (opens in a new tab) Read the full guide Exempt — kept in full (opens in a new tab)
Quebec Social Solidarity Program (opens in a new tab) Quebec also runs a separate Basic Income Program. Read the full guide Exempt — kept in full (opens in a new tab)
British Columbia Disability assistance (opens in a new tab) Read the full guide Exempt — kept in full (opens in a new tab)
Alberta Assured Income for the Severely Handicapped (AISH) (opens in a new tab) Read the full guide Must be reported — ask what it does (opens in a new tab)
Saskatchewan Saskatchewan Assured Income for Disability (SAID) (opens in a new tab) Exempt — kept in full (opens in a new tab)
Manitoba Manitoba Supports for Persons with Disabilities (opens in a new tab) Not stated — ask first
New Brunswick Social Assistance Program (opens in a new tab) Exempt — kept in full (opens in a new tab)
Nova Scotia Income Assistance (IA) (opens in a new tab) Not stated — ask first
Prince Edward Island AccessAbility Supports (opens in a new tab) Not stated — ask first
Newfoundland and Labrador Newfoundland and Labrador Disability Benefit (opens in a new tab) This one requires a valid Disability Tax Credit certificate. Exempt — kept in full (opens in a new tab)
Yukon Yukon Supplementary Allowance (opens in a new tab) Not stated — ask first
Northwest Territories Income Assistance for Seniors and Persons with Disabilities (opens in a new tab) Not stated — ask first
Nunavut Income Assistance Program (opens in a new tab) Not stated — ask first

Two places the two systems do touch

They are rare and they are specific. Both are worth knowing if you live there.

  • Newfoundland and Labrador

    Its provincial disability benefit requires a valid Disability Tax Credit certificate. Here the federal approval is the provincial door, so the check on this site is the first step for both.

    The government’s own page: Newfoundland and Labrador (opens in a new tab)
    We opened it on August 4, 2026

  • British Columbia

    A Persons with Disabilities designation can skip the standard application if you are already approved for one of a few named programs, including the Canada Pension Plan disability benefit. Read that carefully. It is the CPP disability benefit on that list, not the Disability Tax Credit. Those are two different federal approvals, and walking in with the wrong one wastes an appointment.

    The government’s own page: British Columbia (opens in a new tab)
    We opened it on August 4, 2026

If you already get provincial support

Apply for the Disability Tax Credit anyway. It is a separate thing, applying is free, and it is what opens the Registered Disability Savings Plan, the Canada Disability Benefit and the Child Disability Benefit. Your provincial program gives you none of those.

One caution, and it is the reason to ask before you act. Provinces differ in how they treat money that arrives from somewhere else. Before you count on a refund or a new federal payment, ask your caseworker what it does to your provincial cheque. Ask for the answer in writing.

Why there are no amounts on this page

Thirteen governments set thirteen rates and adjust them on thirteen schedules — some every July, some whenever a budget says so. A table of numbers written today would be wrong within a year, and a stale figure is worse than none on a site that asks you to trust its facts. Every link above goes to the page carrying today’s number.

getowed

Start with the federal one

It opens the most doors, applying is free, and it is the one this site can walk you through right now.

Check what you may get